The Undaunted Kitchen

Turning apprehensive foodies into culinary visionaries

Make your own Rice Krispies!

This post is the most exciting post yet for me! It was a genuine “Aha!” moment in my kitchen and I absolutely love it (and may get too excited about it). I will admit though, to get to the end result of DIY rice pops/crispies/krispies it was an embarrassingly obsessive rabbit hole of experiments that even in its calmest moment ended up looking like this…

It all started when a friend of mine reminded me about my long-lost love of popping your own popcorn. Which is fun, cheap and far more delicious than a bag of microwave stuff. But then I started scanning my kitchen thinking “what else can I pop?!

I started doing internet research and consulting a few books of mine and everything I read was so varied so I decided to just experiment. I had on hand: pearled barley, sushi rice and brown rice. I soaked about a tablespoon of all of them for 24 hours. Then started the popping experiment. My results ended up as that board of madness above, but the results were very clear. The dried rice ended up popping far better than the soaked ones and the sushi rice was easily the most edible but sadly, none of them were great.

Slightly discouraged, I did some more reading and found out that the reason rice is so hard to pop at home is because the outer shell on the rice is too hard so the inner kernel cannot pop out as it does in the case of corn (ie.popcorn). Which is why in a factory setting, a high amount of pressure and steam is used to pop the rice. But most of us don’t have high pressure steamers available to us, and if you do I am jealous. So, I did a bit of research on using cooked rice to “pop” thinking that the outer shell would be weakened with the cooking process and it may be a viable option for home popping rice. After some more experimenting this is the tasty and successful end result!

HOW TO

1) Take your cooked sushi rice* and lightly flatten it out into a thin patty, making sure not to smash the rice kernels. Place in a non-stick pan

2) Let it cook in an oven on the lowest setting until it is hard but still white, let cool and break into little crumbles

3) Place about 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil in a heavy bottomed pan and with a lid on, let it fry until golden brown (it doesn’t really pop much but it does puff ever so slightly)

4) Place rice on a paper town to drain

And there you have it- tasty tasty rice pops! I added them to my muesli for a new crunch, but I also tried it with milk and it legitimately tastes and holds together like Rice Krispies!! So give it a go and start making your own breakfast cereals. They could also be used as a new snack. When still hot out of the pan, try sprinkling your favorite spice mix (sweet or savory) on them for some personalized munchies!

…. I may be a bit too excited, but I hope you try it and enjoy it.

* for me, the easiest way to cook sushi rice is: wash the rice, then use equal parts water and rice let it come to a boil and then cover and simmer on low until ready.

13 comments on “Make your own Rice Krispies!

  1. sacha
    February 10, 2012

    so creative. its something i would look at in my cereal but never think to make at home. now you gotta add some marshmallow and make it a rice krispies treat. thats the jam.

    • courtney
      February 11, 2012

      sach you are a mind reader! my next move was to get the rice krispies treats recipe going!! :)

  2. Sarah
    August 29, 2012

    I’m so glad that I’m not the only person who gets (super) excited about these kind of things. I’m definitely trying this out!

    • courtney
      September 18, 2012

      So glad to hear that someone else enjoys the odd culinary experiment, let me know how to rice krispies turn out!

  3. valtruch
    September 26, 2012

    If this works, you’ll be my hero ! I have been looking for an organic equivalent to RK because K*****gs uses GMO and I don’t want to give that crap to my little boy who’s not even a year old yet (but looooves Krispies). So if I can make them myself it’s even better

    • courtney
      September 27, 2012

      Totally understand looking for alternatives. Let me know how they turn out for you!!

  4. symphony
    December 30, 2012

    Tried this and they are very “Krispie” like, but a little on the hard side. Did I fry too long? I only kept the rice in the oven until the outer part was hard, but the rice in general was still pretty moist other than that thing hard outside. Should I have dried it more?

    Still though, my kids like it even though it wasn’t as light and fluffy as the store bought kind so I’d say it’s a hit.

    • courtney
      January 9, 2013

      Hi there! Thanks for visiting and trying out the recipe! I found the key to getting them to really “pop” while frying was to thoroughly dry them out in the oven beforehand. Ideally, you want them to be as dry and hard as possible without browning them. Hope that helps! :)

  5. Molly
    April 16, 2013

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  6. Pingback: Pick Up Cereal Nostalgia (And A Game Coupon) At Target This Month | GeekMomGeekMom

  7. Tony
    April 23, 2013

    Do you still soak first before drying them in the oven ? thanks

  8. Fatimah Syarif
    May 26, 2013

    My mother n law told me to cook the rice then lay out to dry then fry the rice to pop i .am going try using a pop corn machine.

  9. Fatimah Syarif
    May 26, 2013

    cooked rice and dried rice Has anyone tried using a pop corn machine

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2012 by in breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

