5 Minute Dim Sum Chili Oil

Every time I go out for dim sum I find myself greedily cupping that tiny bowl you are always given and shoveling more and more chili oil into it while unceremoniously dunking everything I can find into the spicy oil. I can’t help it. Some have this same addiction to Siracha but for me it’s chili oil.

I know it’s nothing special, I really do. I know I am not going to win a James Beard award or rub elbows with Wylie Dufrense for making chili oil, but sometimes you just have to celebrate the addictive and easy stuff to make. So on that note, here is how to make 5 minute dim sum chili oil.

What you will need
1/3 cup dried chilies or chili flakes
1 cup vegetable oil
1 Tablespoon Szechuan peppercorns (optional)

– knife or scissors

– mason jar or airtight container to keep oil in

I started off by getting a bunch of dried chili that I picked up cheaply at a local market. If you can’t find them, just use chili flakes instead
Start cutting the chili into little slivers directly into the container you are going to keep the oil in. I found scissors were quicker than a knife, but use whichever you have on hand
If you are using Szechuan peppercorns, lightly crack the Szechuan peppercorns using the back of a saute pan and add into your chili mix.

 At this point, start heating up your oil on a low heat. I didn’t have a thermometer on hand so what I did is let the oil get to smoking point and then turned off the heat. Don’t put the chili in now!! It will burn and become an oily, spicy, charred inedible mess. Oil cools off quite quickly, so after a few minutes try testing slivers of chili in the oil one by one. If you throw the slivers in and they go brown or black it’s still too hot, take them out of the oil and wait a bit more. What you are looking for is for the chili to have a little sizzle when it hits the oil and no severe change from its red color. When you see this happen, add in all of your chili and peppercorns and let it cool to room temperature.

Once at room temp, go ahead and put the oil back into your airtight container. Let it sit and steep for at least a day before you start using it. After that, it’s up to you! Use it for a spicy stir fry, add it to some sticky rice, put it on pizza, burritos, bolognese- anything!!

….AND ENJOY!!!

2 comments

  1. tv pc verse u
    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics? Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

